Anybody for Chocolate Pound Cake?

Every now and again I like to make a dessert for the fam. I don’t use boxes. In fact, I’m against using boxed mixes because of the lack of control I have over the ingredients. When I make things using whole ingredients, I’m in total control of what my family’s consuming. Desserts in my home are limited to a couple of times a week (Sunday being one) in effort to keep the weight down (after all, I do have to keep in shape) and reduce the amount of white flour (which results in a lighter fluffier dessert for baked goods).

I love chocolate. I can eat a chocolate layer cake with chocolate frosting (not that chocolate flavored buttercream stuff either) any day. And I love chocolate frosted glazed doughnuts. It’s a lot of sugar (mostly processed white) but boy are they tasty! Then there’s decadent fudge brownies, the chewy kind…oh my gracious!

Here’s a dessert that I make, particularly on Sundays. It’s a chocolate pound cake. It’s not too chocolaty so for those who aren’t real big on chocolate, you’re sure to like this recipe while the rest of us may desire to add a quarter cup more of cocoa (reducing the amount of flour a quarter cup).

Chocolate Pound Cake Recipe

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees to get your oven hot and ready for your cake. Next, oil and flour your cake pan to minimize sticking. (Note — this recipe will work fine in a loaf pan.)

Cream 1 cup butter until fluffy and add 2 cups raw sugar. Whip it until smooth and fluffy. Add 4 eggs beating well after each individual egg is added. Combine in a separate, medium sized bowl, 2 and 1/4 cups of cake flour, 1/2 cup of cocoa, 1/2 teaspoon of sea salt, and 1 Tbs (tablespoon) of aluminum free baking powder. Combine this mixture well. Mix together 1 cup of sour cream and 1 tsp (teaspoon) of vanilla extract. Next step, you’re going to add the dry mixture and the sour cream mixture by alternating each. Beat the mixture well each time you add to the butter. Pour the batter into your oiled and floured cake pan. Bake for at least an hour. Since ovens vary in temperature, it may be wise to check the cake between 45 minutes with a toothpick in the center and adjust your time accordingly.

Well, there you have it. I’m off now to get a bite myself. So let me know how it turns out for you. I’d love to hear.

Leave a Reply

