Old Fashioned Strawberry Jam -n- Fresh Baked Bread

Golden crusty top (onion bits and all) and fluffy inside. These are the hamburger buns I baked. I didn’t soak my grains for these so I used occident flour (naturally bleached by the sun). The turned out great!

We also had a community event over the weekend where I sold some of my home baked cinnamon buns. They were a huge hit! I’d love to bake for a living; however, it’s much too much to have a licensed kitchen and so forth. But I have to say it’s truly a passion.

Yesterday, I also baked raisin bread, cranberry walnut bread, and cinnamon bread with my sourdough starter. They had wonderful flavor and the sweet complimented the sour perfectly. These are mostly recipes I have in my head that I need to put on paper. Just haven’t gotten around to it yet. As soon as I get these recipes organized, I’ll be posting some of them. Meanwhile, here’s an old recipe for strawberry jam (since strawberries are just about to make their appearance here).

Old Fashioned Strawberry Jam

3 cups whole strawberries
1.5 cups honey
1 box pectin
1 tsp lemon juice

Wash and crush those berries up a bit. If you like to see the fruit chunks, crush them just enough to create juices. Heat them over a medium heat with your honey and bring to a boil but WATCH them because you don’t want a burned sugar taste in your jam. Add your lemon juice and then half a box (should be the size of a jello box) of pectin to your mix and stir until it’s dissolved. Test for gelling by taking a cold spoon, dipping it into the strawberry mixture (very quickly of course), and watching to see the thickness on the spoon. If you want it thicker, add a little more pectin. Take those foamy air bubbles off the top of the jam. Stir and place into containers to put into the fridge.

Leave a Reply

