Goodbye KitchenAid – Hello Bosch!

After a year and a half of dealing with the quirks of the KitchenAid “Professional” mixer, I’ve finally decided to let it go. The relief feels similar to realizing, after hearing a loud continuous booming sound coming down the stairs, that it wasn’t your toddler falling. It’s been a total nightmare with that machine and, worse, the company is not helpful at all when there’s a failing product.

My dear heart bought a KitchenAid mixer for me around October 2008. I needed a larger one because I had a KitchenAid standard and it just wasn’t working for a family of nine. However, after about six months of having the “Professional”, I noticed that there were times the machine would completely cut off. Now KitchenAid said that this was due to a mechanical feature that kept the motor from burning out. So essentially, the machine cuts off to protect itself. That was great; however, it was cutting off EVERY time I used it. I called again and they told me that it wasn’t a malfunction and that they couldn’t replace the machine. So I ended up using the thing until it would stop and then continuing the process manually after that.

This went on for about nine more months until I started paying attention to the raving reviews from Bosch mixer owners. I was a little discouraged to say the least. Then, in such great timing, my mixer apparently wore out one of the spurs. So I called KitchenAid again with hope that they would at least replace the machine (so I could avoid the hefty expense of purchasing another) and they confirmed that a spur may have gone bad, only this time, my mixer was already past the warranty period. So, of course, KitchenAid told me that there was nothing they could do but give me a list of places I could pay to get it fixed or give me a coupon worth $30 towards a refurbished one. Okay – are you kidding? I had to solely focus on the grace of God here. I paid $400 for that mixer so KitchenAid’s response to my problem was a bit annoying (to say the least). Obviously I didn’t want anything refurbished, and at that point, I was willing to just “give” them the machine back so they could refurbish that one.

Long story short, I’m expecting my new Bosch mixer to come in today. It may not seem like much to be excited about but I have to tell you that it’s quite exciting to me considering I’ve been kneading and mixing by hand for months. (What a glimpse of life without modern technology!) So although it hasn’t arrived yet, I sort of feel like an expectant mother (well — I’m also, literally, in that category). I’ve already put my mixer on eBay and I’m looking forward to 800 watts of mixing and kneading! Plus, did I mention there’s a 3 year warranty on the Bosch as opposed to the 1 year on the KitchenAid. That’s one great way to have one up on the competition.

Well that’s today’s story. I hope to have great reviews on the Bosch Universal Mixer. I’ve heard many testimonials from people I know who own one and have had the same one for over a decade! Hopefully, I’ll also have one of those testimonials. God bless!

 Goodbye Kitchen Aid…Hello Bosch!
Leave a Reply

