Sew Not Ready For Fall

It’s so hard to believe we’re right in the middle of August! Soon we’ll see the leaves falling from the trees and the weather will get a little cooler. I have to say that these record breaking temperatures here have been a little much but I’m a summer gal. I absolutely love summer time. However, it’s time to get into the mode of harvest, fall, and eventually the holiday season.

I’ve already started creating some things for the upcoming season. In fact, it seems that I have so many projects to complete that I’m not sure how they’ll all get done! I guess a little at a time. At any rate, school for many of the children in our area has started already and my kids will begin in another week. So this week will be filled with sewing for the kids.

I’ve been keeping an eye out on some of the fabric stores around and things aren’t cheap! However, JoAnn’s seems to always have those neat little coupons for 40% off one regularly priced item. The only catch is you have to sign up for their mailing list. If you don’t have a JoAnn’s near you, that’s perfectly fine because you can order online. The mailing list, from my experience, will generally only benefit you if you have a location that’s close to you as I’ve found that these coupons are “in store only.”

So it’s jumpers and skirts this week (and probably next) for us girls. So while the big girls are cutting out and sewing jumpers, the little ones will be doing some craft projects to put up for the fall. This seems to sound like a good plan but – well we’ll see.

If you’re looking for other online fabric stores, I’ve been referred to Fabric.com and Hancockfabrics.com. I have no personal experience with either so I can’t really assist with an opinion of them.

Well, baby’s started crying and laundry is a-beeping so I’m off. However, I’d be interested in finding out any experiences (good and not so good) with Fabric.com and Hancockfabrics.com so I welcome any feedback.

Leave a Reply

