Scheduling – A Dry Run

I’m trying to get back on some sort of a schedule here since the baby’s been born. It’s so funny how God gives us that convenient amnesia where we don’t quite remember what it’s like to have a new baby in the house until we’ve done it all over again! However, I welcome the little quirks like living on 2 hours sleep, scheduling revolving around the baby. I’m so blessed to have him. I look at his little face and it’s so worth it!

However, in the scope of things, I still have Bible study, homeschooling, housework, and a business to incorporate into my daily routine. So this week we’re doing a run of the schedule I’ve been working on. This schedule has just been a tweak of our schedule from last school year. I made notes of things that didn’t work, things that did, things that I’d like to see improved, and I came up with what I thought to be a feasible schedule for this year. Well, even little Josiah has been worked into that schedule. His feedings are incorporated into the schedule and his naps. I’ve kind of left things open with him between the feedings because he’s still so little. Housework; however, is scheduled during various snippets of the day and business also has its place when the children are occupied with independent work or when we’re sewing etc.

Even when the perfect schedule seems to be in place, there are always interruptions. So I’ve even planned my schedule to incorporate a day where I do my running around, a day for my cooking, a day when I focus on laundry, a day for deep cleaning, and a day when I spend more time creating things for the store. Focusing on one area at a time has really helped me to not feel overwhelmed.

How do you manage? What scheduling techniques do you use (if any)?

Leave a Reply

