Good Smellin’ Homemade Fabric Softener

I stopped buying laundry detergent and fabric softener about three years ago. I’d read a few blog posts about using vinegar in the rinse cycle as a natural fabric softener. It really does work but I have to be honest. I like the smell of fabric softener in my laundry. I could just do without the cost. That may sound a little weird but with a family of ten, I absolutely HAVE to wash at least four loads of laundry a day to keep my laundry manageable. So I can really go through detergent and fabric softener, and fabric softener can get a little costly.

I kind of decided to take the whole vinegar concept and tweak it a bit. I wanted something that was going to smell good so I started playing around with some things that I could add to my vinegar to keep it, sort of, natural yet give my clothes a nice fragrance afterward. Here’s what I came up with:

Good Smellin’ Homemade Fabric Softener

What you’ll need

An empty jug. (I used an empty gallon vinegar jug)
1-1/2 Cups Distilled White Vinegar
Half Bottle (about 6 oz) Cheap Hair Conditioner (I used the dollar store, Ocean Breeze type)
Warm Water
Fragrance Oil

Directions:
Add your vinegar and hair conditioner to your jug.

Fill your jug with your warm water.

Shake the bottle up a bit to blend the ingredients. The conditioner will start out clumpy but will blend in really well the more you shake it.

Lastly, add a two or three drops of your favorite fragrance oil. This time I’m using Apples and Bourbon fragrance oil but I love the Baby Magic type. I’ve also used tangerine essential oil for a wonderful citrus fragrance.

Shake it well again to blend the ingredients and voila! Now you have good smellin’ homemade fabric softener.

What you see at the top is the bubbles from me shaking it up. With this one, I didn’t fill it all the way up until after I did my last shake. Then I slowly added the rest of my water. This does settle down and you don’t have any lumps, clumps or anything else just really nice fabric softener.

Now this fabric softener not only makes my clothes smell great, it works fabulous! No static cling and it wasn’t overpowering. Most of all it worked well for my family (who has very sensitive skin) and lasts awhile even for my family. As for usage, since my washer is a front loader, I use the dispenser to add mine in; however, I’ve also used my Downy ball and it worked great. Hope it works well for you!

Leave a Reply

