Homemade Herbal Cough Syrup

I had tossed around making a few herbal tinctures to prepare for any fall illnesses that may creep up but when I heard two of my boys coughing this morning, I knew today was the day to get started. My two year old has a runny nose and my five year old, a croup or barky cough. So instead of taking a morning walk, I thought I’d make a good old herbal cough syrup.

This one is a syrup that I make that has my grand-daddy’s old fashioned cough remedy as a part of the recipe – honey and lemon. I remember so well the days when Grand-daddy would get out that teaspoon of honey and squirt a little lemon in it. That was good stuff! This is a spin off from that with a bit of extracted herbs and glycerin.

Dawn’s Cough Syrup
1 Tablespoon Each of:

Plantain
Licorice
Marshmallow
Thyme
Garlic Clove

Add herbs to a pot and pour over 1 pint of water. Simmer (don’t boil) the herbs in the water for about 10 minutes. Remove from heat and let the herbs sit with a lid on the pot for approximately 20 minutes. Do not do this for too much longer than 20 minutes because you need to have the extracted tea a bit warm to add the next ingredients.

After you’ve steeped the herbs for 20 minutes, separate the liquid from the herbs with a strainer. Then add 4 Tablespoons of Local Honey and a quarter cup of Vegetable Glycerin. Mix these in while the liquid is still warm. You can keep this room temperature (about 73 degrees) for two to three weeks and in the refrigerator for a couple of months.

Well off to give some to my little darlings. Be blessed!

Leave a Reply

